2022 Short Story Competition Finalists Announced!

Crossing the Tees Book Festival are thrilled to announce the shortlisted authors for 2022’s short story competition. Judges author James Harris, author and bookseller Jenna Warren and former librarian Ian Wilson read over a hundred stories to choose the thirty-one stories which will appear in the sixth Crossing the Tees anthology published by Sixth Element Publishing. The winners will be announced at an award ceremony on Tuesday 25 April, aboard the Teesside Princess, and shortlisted authors will receive a complimentary copy of the new anthology. Congratulations to all the shortlisted authors!

Jenny Adamthwaite – The Day the Spinach Wilted

Helen Anderson – When The Loveliness of Ladybirds Landed

Artemis – Strangers

Aaron Bailey – Orangutan and the Wig

Edward Barnfield – Warscapes (2024)

Patrick Belshaw – My Nigel

Penny Blackburn – Erosion

Jane Bradley – On Thin Ice

Chris Brock – Space and Time

Cathy Bryant – The Creator

Timothy Burton-Martin – Tapestry

Jo Clark – One Lane Closed Due to Incident

Beck Collett – Curiouser and Curiouser

Jacob Cook – The Idea of Tuesdays

Jo Derrick – Wearing Rags and Feathers

Julie Easley – Me and Mr Moone

Kayla Martell Feldman – Once For Friend, Twice For Stranger

Chris Foxon – The Mouse

Dean Gessie – The Competition

Amanda Huggins – Lounge Lizards

Phoebe Hurst – The Lady Vicar

Catherine Leyshon – Sometimes my Annoying Sister is Right

Rachel Pattinson – Your Community Noticeboard

Bryan Pearson – Arrietta Einstein

Pam Plumb – Murdo Livan

Kelly Schweizer – The last report of J.L Woodgate

Philip Sculthorpe – Crossing The T’s

John Simmonds – Tommy Harris

Laura Timms – As above, so below

Elinora Westfall – The Roses and the Weeds

Joe Williams – It is Your Birthday

Please note –  Shortlisted authors have been given priority booking for the award ceremony – subject to availability, tickets may be made available to the general public closer to the time. We are unable to broadcast the event live but hope to film the ceremony and post on our social media the following day.

Sign up to our mailing list

or Unsubscribe

6 - 21 June 2024